Lake Braddock's Independent Student Newspaper

The Bear Facts

Lake Braddock's Independent Student Newspaper

The Bear Facts

Lake Braddock's Independent Student Newspaper

The Bear Facts

Celebrating 50 Years

Ribbon cutting ceremony held at school
Kira George
Alumna Kathy Ryan, FCPS School Board member Laura Jane Cohen, Principal Lindsey Kearns and Principal’s Cabinet President Mina Sisco cut the ceremonial ribbon as the marching band plays the fight song.

The 50th anniversary ribbon cutting ceremony was held Thursday, October 12 at 1:30 p.m.

Beginning the ceremony, the presentation of colors, followed by the choir’s performance of the National Anthem displayed only a fraction of the school’s skilled student-run organizations.

“It’s an honor to lead Bruin Nation during its 50th year. A place where we share a rich diversity and wealth of experiences and opportunities for our students,” Principal Lindsey Kearns said in her welcome speech.

Over the course of its fifty years, the school has established itself as a Gold Medal School and has ranked in the top two percent of high schools in the nation. 

Story continues below advertisement

State Senator James Marsden gave a speech following the ribbon cutting in the library. Referencing the first principal, John William Alwood, Marsden said that what Alwood did was “unique.”

“It wasn’t all about football. It wasn’t all about basketball or baseball. But, the debate team was just as important. Every student activity was just as important as another one, and that was unique for that period of time,” Marsden said.

Alwood’s time as principal paved the way for future students.

“I will always think of Lake Braddock when I see and wear the colors purple and gold. I really look forward to seeing where the next several decades go,” Fairfax County School Board member Megan McLaughlin said.

Other notable guests and speakers of the afternoon included FCPS Superintendent Dr. Michelle Reid, Capital District Governor of the Key Club Erina Haque, Fairfax County School Board member Rachna Sizemore-Heizer, Virginia Legislators Pat Herrity and James Walkinshaw, PTSA President Bob Gaylord and Associate Principal Teri Hampton.

View Comments (1)
More to Discover

Comments (1)

All The Bear Facts Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • T

    TonyOct 16, 2023 at 7:12 pm

    Congratulations to 50 years from this class of 82 Alum! Such great memories and yes Mr. Alwood was the reason for the school’s early success! He was the calming voice at the beginning of the day and his leadership was instrumental through the good times and very trying times!